Baby & Body: 5 month update

This past month has been F-U-N. Really, no sarcasm at all. Like, so much fun. It has also been a shit ton of work, but so much fun. The fun part is that Sloane is starting to become a real person, with a sense of humor, likes and dislikes, a temper sometimes, and little quirks. It’s a lot of fun just discovering what she thinks is fun or funny. Things like oinking or barking at her, sniffing or slurping her neck, pretending to eat her toes, and “pouncing” on the bed like a cat when she’s laying on it. It’s amazing the things you will do to get a belly laugh out of a baby. The work part is that this is basically a full-time job, which is fine because she actually is my full-time job right now (thank god for 12 month mat leave). But it does mean that I’m not doing much else other than interact with her. When I’m with her, that is…I’m still getting out without her for appointments or errands or the odd night or lunch out, so it’s not like I’m shackled to her every minute of every day, but when I’m with her, I’m really with her – if that makes sense.

Although I do have to say, she’s still pretty chill. She’s great in her stroller and Baby Bjorn or her bouncy chair on the floor – so long as I don’t go too long without giving her some attention. Hence the blogging in bed while she is sleeping now, rather than attempting to get any actual work done during the day. I have the rest of my life to check shit off a to-do list every day, and only 7 more months (waaaaah!) to be with her all the time. It’s a small, small window in the grand scheme of things. And as they say, “the days are long but the years are short.”

Back to things I can think about late at night without crying.

Her big accomplishment this month was rolling over, which she did for the first time on the Monday of the Labour Day long weekend while visiting our friend Terry. Also the second and third time. Given a spacious, carpeted room to frolic in, she finally had the space to play. Which made us realize that we had to create more space in our house for her (bye-bye gigantic aquarium, hello foam floor tiles) and also, that a new house altogether sure would be nice. For now though, this new little play space is doing the trick nicely. She rolls every which way and wriggles around to do full 360’s. She’s also taken to sleeping on her side again now that she has a little more space in the Pack n’ Play. Basically, we had been stifling our child’s movement with our teeny tiny home and restrictive furniture. Yay us.

In our defence, we are still taking her out for walks every day (with the odd exception) and she gets lots of play time at Grandma and Papa’s house too. We also started a weekly Rhyme & Reason class with little rhymes, stories, songs, finger/hand plays, and lots of info about development. She loves the activities as well as gawking at all the other babies and moms. She is particularly partial to songs that involve bouncing, jiggling or tickling. We also do the library every week or two and she likes it there quite a bit too. I’m pleased to report that there is an impressive selection of really good children’s books out there that make bedtime story time pretty fun for us (and the cats) too.

So she’s not too hard done by.

Likewise, I’m doing pretty well too. My biggest challenge is still remembering to eat and drink enough to not get tired and cranky. Just in the past couple weeks there have been a few scattered days where my milk seems a little lower than normal (this had never been a problem before, to say the least) and Sloane didnt seem completely satisfied during/after nursing – tugging and fussing (ugh) So I went with the old wives’ tale of drinking Guinness and it works like a charm. If I feel a bit low, I just drink one before bed and wake up fully stocked. But overall, i know that eating regularly and drinking enough water is definitely the smarter way to stay on top of my dairy duties.

In other TMI news, I realized that it has been more than 14 months since my last period. For some reason, it hadn’t really occurred to me before that it would be so long. It can come back any time after giving birth (a breastfeeding girlfriend got hers just 6 weeks later), but it’s not at all unusual for it to stay away until after you wean the baby if you’re exclusively breastfeeding. Just another little bonus to make up for the first few weeks of hell.

One thing that has maybe (?) started happening that I’ve been waiting for (due to warnings) is the postpartum hair loss. It does seem a bit delayed so maybe I’m just in a shedding cycle or it’s unrelated, but I do seem to be, well, shedding a lot of hair these days. It’s not like, coming out in clumps or anything but I’m just brushing out a lot more hair these days. This may be a blessing, given that what is left, Sloane is dutifully attempting to rip out. It really is a good thing they are so darn cute and sweet and smell-icious.

Leave a Reply

