Baby & Body: 4 month update

Why is it that I can only get motivated to buckle down and write these monthly updates when I’m butting up against the deadline of the NEXT month’s birthday? Seriously, something is wrong with me. So once again, I am struggling to remember what happened between months 3 and 4. If you recall last month’s update, I mentioned that I was “jotting down notes for the next update”. Which would be rad if it wasn’t a bald-faced lie. I mean, I intended to jot down notes…

Think, think think. July 25 to August 25 was dominated by the fascinating discovery of toes and tongue. And naturally, the inevitable meeting of the two. Poor kid, please forgive mommy for outing your baby weirdness. It’s kind of cool when they discover a body part for the first time because for at least a week or two it nullifies the need for outside amusement (let’s all take a moment to thank god she is a girl) as they fixate on, say, grabbing their feet, and attempting to insert into mouth. The tongue discovery was particularly amusing since she can’t see it, but spent a lot of time sticking it out, moving it around, blowing bubbles, blowing raspberries and otherwise knocking herself out trying to figure out what exactly this unseen entity can do. With that, came lots more sound making and giggling. Turns out fart noises are as funny at 4 months as at 14 and, well, 40 years, I imagine. Actually, one of the funniest things was when my husband farted in his sleep one night and then I heard a giggle from over in the bassinet. And now I have outed my husband as well. Well done, me! Sloane is also becoming more dexterous, passing things back and forth between her hands, holding objects with more precision and picking things up if they drop.

The most accurate measurements I have are actually from juuuust over the 4 month mark (from her September 5 doctor’s appointment) when she weighed in at juuuust under 16 lbs and juuuust under 25 inches. What I remember most about this appointment was Sloane being pronounced “slow-anne” by the nurse when she called to us in the waiting room (I died laughing for 2 days, including an entire massage appointment when the therapist and I came up with back stories in bad southern accents about poor little Slow-Anne – named after her daddy Slow Andy, of course) and Sloane getting really pissed that the doctor wouldn’t let her have the stethoscope.

What else? Sleep…or lack thereof. Sleep regressions happen at a bunch of different points and it’s basically when a baby who normally sleeps well becomes an asshole. Or, you know, begins waking up at night, resisting going to sleep at night or skipping naps. Thankfully, Sloane has never been a night waker – much like her mom (and much unlike her dad) once she’s down, she’s down for the count. But resisting bed time and skipping naps are right up her alley. With the lesson under our belts from last month, we solved the first issue by moving her bedtime up again by an hour (for an 8pm bedtime) and the napping thing just ran its course after a couple weeks. Most of the time you don’t really “solve” any young infancy issues, you just get through it and realize that absolutely everything is truly just a phase. So happy that nap times are back in effect though, because that phase was a bit of a bitch.

As for me, there isn’t much to report. My body is chilling on a nice flat plateau while my emotions perch on a cliff. I’m definitely still hormonal in the sense that I can’t handle certain topics and I’m still more emotional than usual, although I’m starting to wonder if this now a permanent change. Maybe moms just cry for every baby in the whole world who gets hurt or sick or goes missing. I can live with that. I find that I’m still running warmer than I used to as well (this is polite phrasing for “wakes up soaked in sweat”) and I still have roughly the daily water intake requirement of an elephant. I’m starting to wonder if I should make attempts to fade my c-sec scar while I still can (i.e. while it’s still ‘fresh’) with various lotions and potions? Truthfully, I don’t give one flying fuck if it looks this way forever since it lies well within the bikini zone anyways and even if it were more visible, it’s not very big or unsightly. But it seems like an easy little project. Certainly much easier than starting to work out again. So I may have a shot in hell of following through.

 

Leave a Reply

