A Perry Pumpkin

We had a little pumpkin carving extravaganza at work leading up to the big day. Somehow, my team got on board with a jack-o-fetus. I drew it onto the pumpkin using some fetus silhouette clip art (can’t wait to see the kinds of ads Google will start feeding me based on that day’s search history) as a reference. I also got to scoop out the pumpkin guts, because it is seriously one of my favourite smells in the world…not pumpkin pie or pumpkin spice mind you, just that wet, earthy raw pumpkin goo smell. LOVE IT. No, this is not just a pregnant thing this is an everyday weirdo thing. It was then lovingly carved by my two teammates (while I paced in the waiting area) into the disturbing creation I now present:

20151029_164356_resized

As you can see, it was a little touch and go for a while when we realized that the umbilical cord was inadequate and the baby fell out shortly thereafter. We took the opportunity to do a little detail work and cleaning up around the edges before bracing him (or her) back in there with toothpicks.

One thought on “A Perry Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

